Early Access Newsletter | July 2024

Exclusive Time Limited Print Drop and Competition Winners

Time Limited Print Drop Announcement

 ~ A Message from the Artist

Hi everyone, and a warm welcome to our new subscribers!

I have some exciting news to share with you. Next Tuesday, the 16th, at 13:00 GMT, my video with Instagram’s @Design page will go live! Their page is dedicated to celebrating the work of artists and designers from around the world. They discovered my typewritten creations last month and reached out to collaborate on a project.

I’d greatly appreciate your support by liking and commenting on the video once it’s live. Your engagement helps further the reach of my work to new audiences!

The artwork featured in this video is from my latest time-limited print drop: "New York: Midtown Manhattan." More details on this print can be found in the newsletter.

André Rieu in his home town Maastricht

Next week I’ll be heading to the Netherlands to create artwork for André Rieu, the celebrated Dutch violist and conductor, at his annual concert in Maastricht. I’ll be creating an on-location artwork of the concert to a live audience… eek! Let's hope my loud typing doesn’t disturb any of the 11,000 audience members! If you are fans of André then keep an eye out for me on their socials and when it broadcasts on tv.

Working on my latest print drop!

Lastly, we’re in the early stages of planning an open day at my studio here in London towards the end of August. This will be a ticketed event as the studio is quite small and so we can only invite a small number of people. Stay tuned for more details in the next newsletter coming soon!

James Cook | Typewriter Artist

Early Access Print Release

New York: Midtown Manhattan

I’m thrilled to announce my new Time-Limited Print Drop:

"New York: Midtown Manhattan"

This piece is inspired by my memorable trip to New York back in April, where I stayed at the iconic Art Deco New Yorker Hotel. As a subscriber to this newsletter, you’ll receive exclusive early access to the artwork on July 15th at 12:00 PM GMT, a full 24 hours before it becomes available to the public.

Typed with my trusty 1930s Underwood No. 5, this print is time-limited and will only be available for one week, from July 15th to July 23rd. There will be a limited edition of 150 prints in the A3 size (42cm x 29.7cm) and 250 prints in the larger A2 size (59.4cm x 42cm).

The artwork features many hidden typed details, such as shop and street names I noted during my stay in New York. Additionally, there are a few cheeky satirical jokes about JFK’s notoriously long border control wait times that we experienced on our trip.

Up-close details

ABOUT THIS PRINT EDITION 

  • Presented on acid-free, archival German Etching Giclée paper from Hahnemühle

  • Frames are heavyweight, solid wood from FSC-certified sources

  • Carbon neutral, sustainable production, packaging and shipping

Brandon Low and His Competition Win!

Brandon Low, Competition Winner

Brandon who lives in France sent me this photo of his 1-of-1 Robbie William’s Typewriter Print which he won in my recent Competition Giveaway. He has now had the work framed and it looks fantastic! Congratulations also to Emily Walton for winning the other competition artwork that was up for grabs. If you have any photos you would like to share with your recent purchases, please do submit them to [email protected]